Турнир претендентов 2020
The Sverdlovsk region
The Sverdlovsk region (Sverdlovsk Oblast) is a subject of the Russian Federation and a member of the Ural Federal District. Its administrative centre is located in Yekaterinburg.
It was established as a district of the RSFSR on 17th January 1934 when the Ural was divided. Its current border has remained unchanged since 1938 after it was taken out of the Perm region.

Coat of arms of the Sverdlovsk Region
4 310 861
22,19 per km²
density of population
which is around three times higher than Russia's national average of 8,57
85,06 %
of the residents live in urban areas

Yevgeny Kuyvashev
The highest-ranking official is the Governor, elected for a term of five years. On 29th May 2012, that post was taken up by Yevgeny Kuyvashev.
The Sverdlovsk region is a developed industrial centre. It has 5400 enterprises in the industries of mining, metallurgy, chemicals, forestry, energy, construction and defence.